Cal Bears: Two Players on Preseason Watch Lists

BERKELEY, CA - OCTOBER 21: Raymond Hudson
BERKELEY, CA - OCTOBER 21: Raymond Hudson /

Two Cal Bears players were named to preseason award watch lists on Tuesday: Addison Ooms (Rimington Trophy) and Raymond Hudson (Mackey Award).

On Tuesday, two California Golden Bears players were named to preseason award watch lists. Center Addison Ooms was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, while tight end Raymond Hudson finds himself on the John Mackey Award watch list.

The Rimington Trophy is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding center, and is named for Dave Rimington. A former Nebraska Cornhusker, Rimington was a consensus first-team All-American center in 1981 and 1982. He won the Outland Trophy (given to the best interior lineman in college) both seasons, making him the first, and thus far only, player to win the award twice.

Ooms, entering his junior year, started all 12 games for the Bears as a sophomore, making him the only returning offensive player to have started every game last year. He earned the Bob Tessier Award as the team’s Most Improved Lineman. He was part of one of the nation’s best offenses, with a passing offense that ranked fourth in yards per game and 10th in total offense. The group set school records for most completions, fewest fumbles lost, and fewest turnovers.

More from Golden Gate Sports

The award was first given after the 2000 season, and a Cal player was never garnered the honor. In fact, no Pac-12 player was ever been given the Rimington Trophy. Alex Mack, a Bear from 2005 to 2008 and currently an Atlanta Falcon, was a finalist for the award in both 2007 and 2008.

The Mackey Award, named for all-time great tight end John Mackey, has been given to the nation’s most outstanding tight end every year since 2000. Mackey played with Syracuse from 1960 to 1962 before entering the NFL, where he carved a Hall of Fame career. He caught 331 passes for 5,236 yards and 38 touchdowns in 10 seasons with the Baltimore Colts and San Diego Chargers before being enshrined in Canton in 1992.

Hudson is entering his senior season with the Bears, and played 34 games, including nine starts. Over his career, he’s caught 34 passes for 429 yards and three touchdowns. 2016 was his best year, grabbing 16 passes for 165 yards, and all three of his career touchdowns.

Like the Rimington Trophy, no Cal player has ever won the John Mackey Award. However, the Pac-12 has had better luck as a conference. Three players within the conference have been Mackey Award winners: Marcedes Lewis of UCLA in 2005; Fred Lewis of USC in 2007; and most recently, Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington in 2013. All three players went on to the NFL.

Next: Cal & St. Mary's to Play 3-Game Series

Hudson becomes the first Cal player to land on the John Mackey Award watch list since Richard Rodgers in 2012. Rodgers caught 59 passes worth 896 yards and a pair of scores over 22 games from 2012 to 2013. He currently plays for the Green Bay Packers, where he is teammates with another former Bear, Aaron Rodgers.