Pac-12 All-Conference Teams Announced; Bears and Cardinal Abound


The Pac-12 All-Conference Teams have been announced, and the California Golden Bears and Stanford Cardinal are both well-represented.

On Tuesday, both the first and second Pac-12 All-Conference teams were announced, honoring the best players the Conference has to offer at every position. Among the local teams, two Cal Bears’ players have been named First-Team All-Conference, while six Stanford Cardinal players are First-Teamers, and two more are on the Second Team.

Cal’s record-breaking quarterback Jared Goff is one of the Pac-12’s All-Conference first-team quarterbacks, along with Wazzou’s Luke Falk. Goff, who is fourth on the all-time Pac-12 leaderboard in passing yards and touchdowns, played a huge role in leading the Bears to their first winning season under head coach Sonny Dykes. Goff is second in the conference this season in passing yards, completions, and attempts, all to Falk, but is first with 37 touchdowns, also a school record.

Goff’s favorite target, receiver Kenny Lawler, is one of three first-team All-Conference receivers. Lawler leads the Bears with 47 receptions and 10 touchdowns (tied for third in the Pac-12), and second with 582 yards.

More from Golden Gate Sports

From Stanford, Christian McCaffrey is a first-teamer in two different positions: running back and return specialist. McCaffrey, a sophomore, is the second-leading rusher in the Pac-12 (1,640 yards), and is the nation’s leader in yards from scrimmage (2,075) and all-purpose yards (3,035). The versatile McCaffrey has made a strong case to be a Heisman Trophy contender.

Junior Austin Hooper is the Pac-12’s First-Team tight end. Among tight ends in the conference, Hooper is first in touchdown catches (six), third in receiving yards (406), and fourth in receptions (29). A pair of senior offensive linemen, Joshua Garnett and Kyle Murphy, round out the team’s offensive first-team players.

On the defensive side of the ball, senior defensive lineman Aziz Shittu and senior linebacker Blake Martinez are also first-team players for Stanford. Shittu picked up 2.5 sacks during the season, and led the team with 9.5 tackles for loss. Martinez led the Pac-12 with 121 tackles, also adding 4.5 tackles for loss, an interception, and five pass breakups.

More from Cal Bears

Quarterback Kevin Hogan and defensive back Ronnie Harris are named to the Pac-12’s All-Conference second team, giving Stanford nine representatives, tied for the most in the Pac-12 with USC and UCLA. Hogan is the Cardinal’s all-time wins leader, and is second in passer rating this year.

Honorable mentions for Cal are senior tight end Stephen Anderson, junior offensive guard Chris Borrayo, senior defensive end Kyle Kragen, senior defensive back Stefan McClure, junior linebacker Hardy Nickerson, and senior wide receiver Bryce Treggs.

Honorable mentions for Stanford are senior linebacker Kevin Anderson, senior offensive guard Johnny Caspers, sophomore fullback Daniel Marx, senior defensive lineman Brennan Scarlett, senior center Graham Shuler, sophomore defensive lineman Solomon Thomas, and senior placekicker Conrad Ukropina.

The complete Pac-12 All-Conference teams are listed below.


QB: Jared Goff (Sr., California); Luke Falk (So., Washington State)

RB: Christian McCaffrey (So., Stanford); Royce Freeman (So., Oregon)

WR: Kenny Lawler (Jr., California); Juju Smith-Schuster (So., USC); Gabe Marks (Jr., Washington State)

TE: Austin Hooper (Jr., Stanford)

OL: Zach Banner (Jr., USC); Joe Dahl (Sr., Washington State); Joshua Garnett (Sr., Stanford); Tyler Johnstone (Sr., Oregon); Kyle Murphy (Sr., Stanford)

DL: DeForest Buckner (Sr., Oregon); Kenny Clark (Jr., UCLA); Lowell Lotulelei (So., Utah); Aziz Shittu (Sr., Stanford); Antwaun Woods (Sr., USC)

LB: Su’a Cravens (Jr., USC); Blake Martinez (Sr., Stanford); Gionni Paul (Sr., Utah)

DB: Budda Baker (So., Washington); Adoree’ Jackson (So., USC); Sidney Jones (So., Washington); Marcus Williams (So., Utah)

PK: Aidan Schneider (So., Oregon)

P: Tom Hackett (Sr., Utah)

RS: Christian McCaffrey (So., Stanford)

AP/ST: Charles Nelson (So., Oregon)


QB: Kevin Hogan (Sr., Stanford)

HB: Devontae Booker (Sr., Utah); Paul Perkins (Jr., UCLA)

WR: Bralon Addison (Jr., Oregon); Darren Carrington (So., Oregon); Nelson Spruce (Sr., Colorado)

TE: Thomas Duarte (Jr., UCLA)

OL: Jake Brendel (Sr., UCLA); J.J. Dielman (Jr., Utah); Conor McDermott (Jr., UCLA); Christian Westerman (Sr., Arizona State); Chad Wheeler (Jr., USC)

DL: Darryl Paulo (Sr., Washington State); Delvon Simmons (Sr., USC); Taniela Tupou (Sr., Washington); Destiny Vaeao (Sr., Washington State)

LB: Travis Feeney (Sr., Washington); Deon Hollins (Jr., UCLA); Jared Norris (Sr., Utah)

DB: Chidobe Awuzie (Jr., Colorado); Randall Goforth (Jr., UCLA); Ronnie Harris (Sr., Stanford); Jaleel Wadood (So., UCLA)

Next: Jared Goff Sparks Huge Comeback Win for Bears

PK: Ka’imi Fairbairn (Sr., UCLA)

P: Drew Riggleman (Sr., Arizona)

RS: Adoree’ Jackson (So., USC)

AP/ST: Soma Vainuku (Sr., USC)