Oakland Athletics: Best Seasons At Shortstop in Franchise History

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Golden Gate Sports is going to spend the next few weeks looking at some of the best single-season performances in the history of the Oakland Athletics and San Francisco Giants, by position.

Today we look at the 10 best seasons by shortstops in the history of the A’s, dating back to their arrival in Oakland in 1968.

The series will alternate teams each day, concluding with the best players by position in the history of each franchise.

To qualify for this list, the player needed a minimum of 100 games at the position in question and this requirement was not prorated for the strike-shortened seasons of 1981 or 1994.

Before you turn the page, here are the five seasons that just missed the cut:

15. Alfredo Griffin, 1986
14. Bert Campaneris, 1969
13. Miguel Tejada, 1999
12. Walt Weiss, 1990
11. Miguel Tejada, 2001


Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus