The NBA announced Sunday that a foul should have been called on Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green prior to a late-game turnover by the Los Angeles Clippers Chris Paul in Game 1 of their Western Conference first-round series on Saturday.
NBA president of basketball operations Rod Thorn said in a statement (per NBA Media Central) that, while the out-of-bounds call ruling that Paul was the last player on the court to touch the ball before it went out of bounds was made correctly following a video review, Green should have been called for a foul prior to Paul knocking the ball out of play.
“After reviewing postgame video, we have concluded that the instant replay review of the out-of-bounds call with 18.9 seconds remaining in the game involving the Clippers’ Chris Paul and the Warriors’ Draymond Green was administered correctly by the referees and the correct decision was made in awarding the ball to the Warriors.
“Under the existing rule, referees may only use instant replay to determine which player caused the ball to go out and a limited set of other reviewable matters. Just prior to the ball going out-of-bounds, Paul was fouled by Green and Paul should have been granted two free throws. Contact preceding out-of-bounds calls is not a reviewable matter.”
Here’s a video of the play:
The irony in that announcement is that in a game where the referees blew the whistle 51 times to call fouls, the league was compelled to tell us about the one that the officials missed.
The Warriors won the game 109-105 and hold a 1-0 series lead heading into Game 2 of the series at Staples Center Monday night.