Apr 1, 2014; Dallas, TX, USA; Dallas Mavericks guard Monta Ellis (11) drives to the basket around Golden State Warriors guard Klay Thompson (11) during the game at American Airlines Center. Golden State won 122-120. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

NBA Admits Officiating Error In Golden State Warriors Win Over Dallas Mavericks

NBA president of basketball operations Rod Thorn issued a statement Wednesday regarding a call that should have been made during overtime of the Golden State Warriors 122-120 win over the Dallas Mavericks at the American Airlines Center in Dallas on Tuesday night.

“Upon review at the league office, we have found that a shot taken by Dallas’ Monta Ellis with 16.0 seconds remaining in overtime was on the way down when initially contacted and ruled a block by Golden State’s Jermaine O’Neal and should have been ruled a goaltend,” Thorn said in the statement. (h/t NBA Media Central) “The exact trajectory of the ball when touched was impossible to ascertain with the naked eye and the play was not reviewable.”

Had the play been ruled a goaltend, it would have given Dallas a 122-120 lead with 11.6 seconds left.

Instead, O’Neal corraled the ball and got it to Stephen Curry, who hit the game-winner from 21 feet with 0.1 seconds left on the clock.

The loss dropped Dallas into the ninth spot in the Western Conference playoff chase, a half-game behind both Memphis and Phoenix entering play on Wednesday.

Tags: Golden State Warriors Officiating Errors

comments powered by Disqus