Dec 23, 2013; San Francisco, CA, USA; San Francisco 49ers former owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. attends the final regular season game at Candlestick Park. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Edward DeBartolo Jr., Tim Brown, Charles Haley Finalists For Pro Football Hall Of Fame

Former San Francisco 49ers owner Edward DeBartolo Jr. and one of his former Super Bowl winning stalwarts, defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley, were among the 15 modern-era finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in voting announced Thursday night, as was longtime Raiders receiver Tim Brown.

Per, four first-year nominees are among the 15 finalists to be reviewed by a 46-member selection committee in New York on Feb. 1.

Among those who did not make the cut from among the 25 semifinalists were former 49ers and Raiders running back Roger Craig and former Raider lineman Steve Wisniewski.

The first-time eligibles who have advanced to the final stage include Derrick Brooks, former Tampa Bay Buccaneers linebacker; former Bucs and Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy, Colts wide receiver Marvin Harrison and Seattle Seahawks tackle Walter Jones.

Besides DeBartolo, Haley and Brown, the rest of the finalists include New York Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, Rams and Steelers linebacker Kevin Greene (who played for the 49ers in 1997), Buffalo Bills wideout Andre Reed, Rams and Steelers  running back Jerome Bettis, Buccaneers and Broncos safety John Lynch, Kansas City guard Will Shields, Cardinals and Rams defensive back Aeneas Williams and longtime kicker Morten Andersen.

Brown is in his fifth year of eligibilty, while this is Haley’s 10th year on the ballot.

Each of the finalists received at least 80 percent of the vote, while Ray Guy, the longtime Raiders punter, was named a senior nominee in August. Guy would become the first pure punter enshrined in Canton if elected.

A minimum of four to a maximum of seven will be inducted next August, with finalists requiring 80 percent of the committee’s votes for induction.

Tags: Charles Haley Edward Debartolo Jr. Pro Football Hall Of Fame Tim Brown

comments powered by Disqus