Mandatory Credit: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Oakland Athletics’ Bob Melvin 3rd In Manager Of The Year Voting

Oakland Athletics manager Bob Melvin finished a distant third in voting by the Baseball Writers of America for the American League Manager of the Year Award, with 16 of the 30 first-place votes going to Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians.

It is Francona’s first time winning the honor. John Farrell of the Boston Red Sox received 12 first-place votes and finished second. Melvin, the 2012 honoree, received the other two first-place votes and finished third.

Melvin led the A’s to their second consecutive American League West crown, guiding them past the Texas Rangers despite injuries limiting several top players, including right fielder Josh Reddick and catcher John Jaso.

Francona won two World Series titles while managing the Red Sox, but never finished higher than fourth in the voting while in Boston from 2004-11.

Melvin won the National League honor in 2007, when he was with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates was the runaway winner in the National League this year, receiving 25 of the 30 first-place votes cast. Don Mattingly of the Los Angeles Dodgers was second and Fredi Gonzalez of the Atlanta Braves was third.

Francona became the second Indians skipper to win the award, joining Eric Wedge in 2007.

Hurdle was similarly the second Pirates manager to be so honored, along with Jim Leyland , who won the award in 1990 and 1992.

Tags: Bob Melvin Manager Of The Year MLB Mlb Awards Oakland Athletics

comments powered by Disqus