May 24, 2013; Indianapolis, IN, USA; IndyCar Series driver Helio Castroneves drives down the main straight away during carb day for the 2013 Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Indianapolis 500: Castroneves and Franchitti Gun for Fourth Indy Title

It’s rarefied air:  the best of the best.  The few.  The proud.

The four-time winners at the Indianapolis 500:  A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, and Rick Mears.

Two of history’s best will battle to join that exclusive club this 2013 Memorial Weekend at the Indianapolis Speedway: Dario Franchitti and Helio Castroneves.

Franchitti won the Indy 500 in 2007, 2010, and 2012, the last in dramatic fashion during the last lap over Takuma Sato.  Sato went low into the first turn to make a winning pass, touched Franchitti’s Chip Ganassi car before crashing into the Turn 1 wall, giving Franchitti the victory.

Castroneves won as a rookie in 2001, repeated in 2002, and again in 2009.  However, his Team Penske car has been a disappointment the last three years, finishing ninth in 2010, 17th in 2011, and tenth in 2012.

Castroneves will start in the third row, while Franchitti will start in the sixth in a field of 33 drivers who will take the green flag on Sunday.

Tags: Dario Franchitti Fourth Title Helio Castroneves Indianapolis 500 Indianapolis Speedway

comments powered by Disqus