Feb 2, 2013; New Orleans, LA, USA; From second left to right, NFL former players Warren Sapp, and Cris Carter, and Jonathan Ogden, and Larry Allen speak with sportscaster Chris Rose (far left) after being selected to the pro football hall of fame during a NFL Network presentation at the New Orleans Convention Center. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Warren Sapp, Larry Allen Elected to Hall of Fame

The hall came calling for a player from each side of the Bay tonight.

Former Raider defensive tackle Warren Sapp and ex-49er offensive lineman Larry Allen were among seven elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. Impressively, both Sapp and Allen made it in their first year of eligibility.

Sapp spent 13 years in the NFL, and his final four with the Raiders from 2004-2007. He recorded 96 sacks and 434 tackles, and was elected to the Pro Bowl seven times.

Allen’s illustrious career finished with two years in the 49ers’ organization from 2006-2007. He was elected to 11-Pro Bowls and was First-Team All-Pro for four seasons.

The day wasn’t all good for Bay Area football fans though, as Eddie DeBartolo, Charles Haley, and Tim Brown were all snubbed from the Hall of Fame.

Tags: Larry Allen Oakland Raiders San Francisco 49ers Warren Sapp

comments powered by Disqus